House of Anubis Finale Review: Beautifully Executed Primetime Tween Soap?

House-of-Anubis-Season-3-03-600x449

From left: Klariza Clayton, Jade Ramsey, Brad Kavanagh, Burkely Duffield, Alex Sawyer, Alexandra Shipp, Louisa Connolly-Burham, Eugene Simon, Tasie Lawrence.

We could debate all day whether or not House of Anubis will be getting another season, but I think that would honestly ruin the show. At this point in time, House of Anubis is not having another season, but if it is in popular demand, they might bring it back.

The apparent series finale entitled “The Touchstone of Ra” of this British Nickelodeon-gone-TeenNick soap/drama/mystery aired last night in the U.S. It was an hour and a half long (or 75 minutes without commercials), and I thought it was 30 minutes too long. The best part of this “movie” special was the last 20 minutes, the rest had me wanting to either fast forward, or play on my phone. Sure, the ending (with the graduation and all) was a real heartbreaker. My sister bawled, and I was very overwhelmed with despair. I have watched this show since 2011, and I feel like it is a part of me. But, I think the writer’s were running out of plots, and it showed in this scraping by of an ending. The departure of Victor was probably what made the episode the saddest. I was glad all of my favorite ships were executed, and I’m glad the newest ship, Fabian (Brad Kavanagh) and Mara (Tasie Lawrence), got its spotlight.

The actors who, without a doubt, save this show are Kavanagh, Eugene Simon (seen in Game of Thrones as Lancel Lannister), and Klariza Clayton (seen in Dani’s House as Sam). The emotional depth that these three actors have leaves me thinking about them even when the TV is off. It isn’t surprising that their characters are my top three favorite characters on the show. The chemistry that Jerome (Simon) and Joy (Clayton) have is intense and passionate, and it leaves you feeling as though their relationship is real, and you have walked in on them. It makes me blush.

The whole “Touchstone of Ra” plot-line left me underwhelmed, and still hungry for a juicier plot line. Although, I loved how Sibuna incorporated Mara in this adventure, as she has never been part of the mystery before. The teaming up of Sibuna and Victor and Mr. Sweets was priceless, and I had been waiting for that since I started watching House of Anubis. I actually laughed at a few parts in this episode, mostly at things Fabian said.

In this special four middle schoolers come to live in Anubis, while their dorms are being cleaned after a bed bug incident. It turns out that one of them, Sophia (Claudia Jesse) was evil. I can’t even explain how much I hated Jesse’s acting, and how much I couldn’t stand the character Sophia. I’d rather not talk about it. I would have enjoyed the episode a lot more, if one of the middle schooler’s hadn’t been evil. Instead, maybe a Sibuna member? That would have had me at the edge of my seat a lot more than a predictable plot line like the one that was spoon-fed to me. However, Dexter (Jake Davis), another one of the middle schooler’s, was rather amusing, and very adorable.

I was upset that KT (Alexandra Shipp) had a rather small role in this episode, which surprised me, seeing as she is a descendant of the Frobisher-Smythe family. But, KT was a lesser sidekick to Eddie (Burkely Duffield), the Osirian, in this action packed episode.

Overall, I gave this series finale a 7 out of 10 stars. The census stating: “While there are some magnificent actors and characters, the lack of more keeps you busy with annoyance while you are watching. The mystery can sometimes seem to wear thin, especially if it is predictable. The chemistry of some characters together is chilling, and leaves you wanting more.”

 I thought this was the perfect way to end such a fabulously executed Nickelodeon-gone-TeenNick soap opera. I hope that Nickelodeon can bring us some more soaps just like this mysterious one.

One response to “House of Anubis Finale Review: Beautifully Executed Primetime Tween Soap?

Leave a Comment or a Quick Meow!