Falling Skies New Season Review

falling-skies-wallpaper-002

Season 1 Main Cast. From left: Drew Roy, Maxim Knight, Noah Wyle, Moon Bloodgood, and Connor Jessup.

**Does contain spoilers**

Where should I begin this review for this highly raved Steven Spielberg post-apocalyptic TNT sci-fi drama? I usually am mainly negative, but how can I be negative when I have nothing but mostly positive things to say?

Falling Skies is on its third season, with newly added characters, and a skitter rebellion. Hal (Drew Roy) is paralyzed from the waist-down from a probe Karen (Jessy Schram) planted inside of him in the last season’s finale. Dr. Glass (Moon Bloodgood) gave birth to Tom Mason’s (Noah Wyle) daughter, and their daughter is beginning to act very strangely. Oh, and may I mention that Tom is the new president of the United States? Now, there are rumors of a spy in the Charleston settlement, and Dr. Arthur Manchester (Terry O’Quinn) is killed before he can release his list of his narrowed down suspects to Tom. This show does a fantastic job creating suspense, while incorporating out-of-this-world scifi twists. Spielburg manages to fit so many plot lines in one episode, it’s truly amazing.

In yesterday’s episode we see Anne still trying to figure out what is wrong with her baby, and she reveals to Tom that she suspects that the baby might be alien. I thought that Bloodgood was rather unconvincing as Anne is this episode, as she didn’t play the “crazy” card very well. She came off as looking more evil than scared, and it left me rather alarmed. Tom didn’t seem very concerned about the whole dire situation, which left me wondering if he really honestly didn’t care, or if Wyle was being stale? I find Tom and Anne’s relationship, very hard to believe.

Crazy Lee (Luciana Carro) is shot by mysterious lieutenant (whom we learn later is working for the real president of the United States who is not Tom Mason) and is stabbed in the head by something sticking up from the ground as she fell to the ground, which causes her to become blind, and eventually die. Every scene with Pope (Colin Cunningham), Matt (Maxim Knight), and Crazy Lee dealing with her injury is very intense and sentimental. The death scene with Cunningham and Carro is devastating, and left me in tears. Knight did a fantastic job of acting, and looking, shocked and internally destroyed. Cunningham showed that he is a true actor, and that Pope actually cares about his people after all, as he expresses care towards Crazy Lee when she is first injured, and while she is dying in the hospital room. At the end of the final scene with Crazy Lee, Pope gives her necklace to Matt, proving he really does look after him. My mother made a joke about Pope being the one who is actually raising Matt, not Tom.

Hal exposes to Maggie (Sarah Carter) that he isn’t dreaming when he is with Karen, he is actually being controlled by her. Hal is set on telling his father, Tom, that he suspects that he (himself) might be the mole that is telling the fish-heads all about the rebellion’s attack plans. Of course, at the end of the episode as he is about to tell his father, the Charleston rebellion camp is attacked by aliens.

My mother is convinced that Tom’s assistant Marina (Gloria Reuben) is the mole, and the one who killed Dr. Manchester. I am starting to believe her. But, honestly, I have no idea who the mole is, but I am trying to reassure myself that it hopefully isn’t Hal.

In the promos for next week’s episode, they reveal that Dr. Rodger Kadar (Robert Sean Leonard) checks Tom and Anne’s daughter’s chromosomes, and their daughter has half alien and half human. This didn’t surprise me. I had already suspected it since I saw the season 3 promos.

I really wish these past three episodes had more Ben (Connor Jessup) in them. Ben was only in about 3 scenes in yesterday’s episode. I honestly, cannot stand his new love interest, Dena (Megan Danso), as I think she is bland and quite annoying. This is unfortunate, because Ben is one of my favorite characters. Although, I thought the riddles him and Dena were testing each other with in yesterday’s episode were cute, and it made me smile.

Oh, and on a final note, I honestly cannot stand the new “western” wardrobe and feel. But, I love the new aliens, and the new relationships forming.

Falling Skies is most definitely a form of TV candy, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes general sci-fi, and/or war movies. I give season 3 a total of 9 out of 10 stars. The census states: “Spielberg does a masterful job at creating a post-apocalyptic world filled with mysterious aliens. The actors complete this world with realistic emotions and actions, that make you believe that this sci-fi world is real.”

Leave a Comment or a Quick Meow!