That Obsession

So, my sister is obsessed with Star Wars. I, unlike millions of people, can’t seem to get into Star Wars, as I usually end up falling asleep or walking out. See, everyone has their obsession niche, except me. I’ve never had that sole thing that I’ve been in love with for over half of my life. I had a friend who was obsessed with the musical Cats and Harry Potter, and another who is obsessed with Tim Burton and crappy horror movies. I think I’m just a trend obsessionist. I was obsessed with Harry Potter for about two years, then I moved to Naruto, and then onto Drake & Josh, then Victorious, and now, a little bit of everything. I want to be known for my obsession, but all I’ve called is the obsession for Michael Jackson, VHS tapes, Criminal Minds, and orange juice. I want to have that HUGE obsession that everyone knows about so if someone looks at me thinks “Whoa, it’s Sarah! The girl who’s obsessed with ___!”

tron fireworks

Okay, the whole reason I even thought about writing this post is because I have two new obsessions to add to my list of other four things up there in the grape. The first of my new obsessions, is my obsession with the Tron franchise. I’m sure everyone has seen the new Tron movie entitled Tron: Legacy. When I watched it in 2010, I thought it was a really good movie, and I dreamed of becoming like Quorra and living on The Grid. Rotten Tomatoes entitled the movie to be “rotten”; only 51% of critics gave it positive reviews, whilst 67% of viewers liked it. The consensus on Rotten Tomatoes for Tron: Legacy being: “..boasts dazzling visuals, but its human characters and story get lost amidst its state-of-the-art production design.” Okay, I’ll admit, when I watched Tron: Legacy for the first time, I noticed the acting was quite lacking, especially with Garrett Hedlund as Sam Flynn, Kevin Flynn’s son. But, it was very easy to look over that, with Jeff Bridge’s (Kevin Flynn) and Michael Sheen’s (Castor/Zuse) acting. The whole idea of Tron, the world of Tron, is so spectacular, magical. I wish I could live on The Grid (Tron system) (can you not tell from my Twitter profile?).  But, I wasn’t too obsessed after I watched the first movie. I mean, I loved it, and I watched it many, many more times, but I hadn’t seen the original yet. A few weeks ago I was flipping through the channels, and I stumbled across the channel BBC America, and they were showing the original, 1982 Tron! Of course, with my luck, it was the end. So, I ended up finding it, and recording it when it came on again a few days ago. I tried to watch it with my sisters, but they complained the whole time about how “boring” it was. So I kicked them out. Sure, the computer technology wasn’t that advanced 30 years ago, and sure, the music sounded like an 80’s elevator with a choir. But, Bridge’s acting is magical, and so is the idea of a world beyond the screen. Now, that I’m obsessed I listen to the Tron: Legacy soundtrack everyday. I plan on buying the DVD’s to both movies, I’ve seen every episode of Tron: Uprising, and I check the Tron Wiki every day. I’m pretty sure I’ve read enough about light cycles and isomorphic algorithms.

SOFIA

Now, my second new obsession, is with the Disney Junior series entitled Sophia the First. I’m going to have to explain myself really well on this one. Okay, I see Sophia the First as I see MLP: FIM. They are both beautifully created children’s programs that I can fangirl the heck out of, and I can learn a lesson about sharing, or caring whilst I do so. Sophia the First is about a little girl, who becomes a princess after her mother marries the king, and she gets two new siblings in the mix. I honestly, ship Sophia and her step-brother James hard-core, even though they are like seven. I started watching this show after I saw an episode while I was trying to find something else to watch, but I was too enchanted by the program to actually change it to anything else. I have no idea what makes this show so good, but I am utterly in love with it. You could say I am obsessed.

All in all, everyone has their obsessions. Whether it be a kind of food, a movie, a book, a sport, Nutella, etc. Maybe my obsession is Michael Jackson, or Tron. I don’t know, maybe I am little bit of everything. But, one thing I do know, is I am obsessed with cats, and not the musical.

Do you think obsessions are healthy? What’s your obsession? Leave your thoughts and obsessions in the comments section!

One response to “That Obsession

  1. My obsession is with Star Wars. I absolutely adore this majestic world. I’ve seen all the movies and I’m currently reading the books. I love the relationship between Han Solo and Princess Leia Organa and when Anakin Skywalker (I refer to him as Anakin instead of Darth Vader when he dies because he had turned good) died in Return of the Jedi, I sobbed. It was a pretty intense moment. Another thing I’m obsessed with is Veronica Roth’s Divergent series. I own the first two books and I’m waiting patiently for October 22, 2013 for the last book Allegiant. I also cannot wait for the Divergent movie that releases March 21, 2014 with Theo James and Shailene Woodley. Those are some of my obsessions. I have loads of smaller ones, but these two were probably my biggest.

Leave a Comment or a Quick Meow!