Word of the Wise: “Viewage”

I am a huge fan of Stephen Colbert and his television show on Comedy Central, The Colbert Report. One of the bits Colbert has is called “The Word” in which he names one of his new made-up words, and how it is involved with the topic he is talking about. I’ve decided to follow in Colbert’s footsteps. Without further ado, here is WORD OF THE WISE (OR WISEREST IF THAT IS A WORD OF COURSE).

In yesterday’s blog post I typed the word viewage (which is highlighted in pink and bolded) into a sentence’s context.

(for viewage of the first few chapters in their rough form click here).

I had been saying viewage my whole life, thinking it was a real word. I googled it last night, and all it came up with was an entry in the Urban Dictionary. It’s meaning? “The name of a naked body part”. I like to believe that I invented to word viewage. My meaning is simple, and not eyebrow raising.

Viewage {vyoo ij] (noun) : the visual inspection or the sight of a project, in a manner specified. Most often or not the case of the object in referral is a film.

I expect for my readers to shelve the word viewage in their vocabulary library.

Leave a Comment or a Quick Meow!